Taking the Time to Write

I have come up against many things that cause my writing process to short circuit (needing to research, looking for inspiration, and just letting my inner critic talk me down), a fellow writer says I should write anyway, but the one thing that really stumps me is time.

My schedule is very dysfunctional on most days, and the fact that I don’t usually schedule out my day or follow a schedule is a problem when it comes to writing. I get distracted from what I should be doing and end up wasting time on less than important tasks.

I read a quote recently by J.K. Rowling that says to protect your writing time. This coming from the author of the Harry Potter series is gold. She actually says “writing days,” but most people don’t have entire days to sit down and write. Still, anyone can take her advice and apply it to their own life.

enhanced-buzz-22016-1383339051-20

Credit to Buzzfeed

Even though I might have only a few minutes to write in any given day, I can protect that time by guarding it from distractions and other tasks. Just sitting down and writing can be one of the most important things you do.

I try to think of it as a job. You wouldn’t go to work and not do the tasks required of you. It’s the same concept when writing. Block out the time that you can commit to and then commit to it. Go to a quiet room or to a lively café, whatever works for you, and write, but protect that time and don’t let anything derail you.

Of course, unforeseen things happen in life, and you might not get to write today, but I say, take one day at a time and do better tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Taking the Time to Write

  1. Good for you! The sad thing is, people will suck up your time if you let them. They’re not being nefarious, just social. Humans like to spend time chatting about little of substance. We take WAY more time than is necessary in meetings. It’s just what we do.

    So, yeah, a decision that we need to protect our writing time is an excellent idea. If we don’t prioritize it, no one else will.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind social distractions very much because they let me get ideas and inspiration for characters and stories. 🙂 Also, I don’t get out often, so it’s nice to communicate with others once in a while.

      Thanks for the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

