Thoughts on Writer’s Block: Do or Do Not. There is No Try.

image

There are many forms of writer’s block, and I seem to have stumbled upon rumination. I’m a fiction writer, working mainly on YA stories, but lately I’ve been thinking that maybe I should write something else. I feel that maybe nonfiction could be fun, and perhaps easier?

But I know it’s not. All writing is hard, and I tell myself that I should just get back to working on my WIP and stop whining. I have so many story ideas, though, and perhaps if I just find the right one, I wouldn’t struggle so and a masterpiece will just flow from my fingers.

Self-doubt is crippling. I know I have a great plot and an awesome character (even though I put her through hell, sorry-not-sorry). Everything will come together if I just sit down and write, right? But what if it really does suck and everybody hates it or worse nobody even reads it because the title is all wrong. (Maybe I’ll just slink away into this corner where I won’t bother anyone).

Overthinking is a killer. I hate the thought of having to rewrite something after I have spent months working on it, so I feel like I have to make it perfect the first time which makes me wonder how a scene should go. Is it important? Does it really move the story forward? Why does it even matter? These thoughts take over, and I’m stuck in limbo.

Light At the End of the Tunnel?

So, I can’t write at the moment with my head full of useless thoughts, circling like vultures ready to pounce when my guard is down. The only thing that gets me by is knowing that possibly other writers go or have gone through the same thing.

image

Maybe J.K. Rowling had moments of doubt that halted her, but the world of Pottermore is proof that she didn’t give up even after her fifteen rejection letters. Or J.R.R. Tolkien who took sixteen years to finish The Lord of the Rings Trilogy even after his success with The Hobbit.

I might not ever become an acclaimed author as these greats, but through their struggles I know I will find my success. I can push through, knowing that writing is really hard and I will fail many times, but I will only grow stronger the more I persevere. I have to pick myself up each time I fall and continue or else my time really will have been a waste. And I can’t get that time back, so I might as well make it worth something.

Solutions to the Situation

I’ve only done a few of these myself, but here are a few writing tips on how you can combat writer’s block:

  1. Go for a walk
  2. Eliminate distractions
  3. Do something to get your blood flowing
  4. Play
  5. Change your environment
  6. Read a book
  7. Freewrite
  8. Listen to music
  9. Brew some coffee
  10. Create a routine
  11. Spend time with someone who make you feel good
  12. Call an old friend
  13. Brainstorm ideas in a bullet point
  14. Read some inspiring quotes to get you started

Read more at GoinsWriter.com to find out how not to overcome writer’s block.

What do You Think?

Are you or have you dealt with writer’s block? Let me know ways you have gotten through these moments. Comment below. Also, check out Tips from 7 Popular Authors who share their own stories of self-doubt.

One thought on “Thoughts on Writer’s Block: Do or Do Not. There is No Try.

Leave a Reply

